Yellow Day

September 5, 2007

The choice was between isolation or solitude. Was I left behind, or did I choose to spend time on my own? There are two images.

In the first, I’m standing by the bus, looking up at the windows, unable to distinguish him through the darkened glass. I lift my hand tentatively, but I don’t know, will never know, whether the gesture is noticed or whether anyone has responded. My uncertainty is written in my expression. This was a choice, really it was. I could have been on the bus. I could have been laughing, checking my belongings, jostling for the seat at the back. The cost of going was not solely financial, though. There was a point to make. A point about time given, time taken, space. A gift of space. The image concludes with a sigh, a straightening of shoulders, a turning away.

There’s a second image, though. It’s the same day. I’m walking briskly along a country road. My forehead is furrowed to start, but gradually, it is smoothed by the almost shocking brightness of the day, the remarkably temperate breeze, the unfamiliar silence. My pace slows and adjusts to the lack of need to be anywhere. A destination exists but has lost its importance. No one, no one anywhere knows where I am, and I stop to make lowing sounds at a single cow in a meadow of wildflowers. She seems to have the right idea, and appears to be inviting me to participate in her appreciation of the day. So I do. I step over the single strand of fence wire, and find my own space… there is no need to interfere with her enjoyment. There is more than enough room for both of us. I lie on my back, examine carelessly the slowly drifting clouds, and make wildflower-angels, my arms and legs akimbo, describing arcs in the fragile plants towering over me. I laugh aloud, and know that this kind of being alone is a choice, not a fall-back position. It is rare, and beautiful, and to be cherished.

6 Responses to “Yellow Day”

  1. Ani Says:

    Although making ‘wildflower-angels’ (lovely visual) is infinitely more appealing, sometimes standing by the bus stop waving half-heartedly is easier because you don’t have a choice to make. At least, that’s what it feels like in the moment, doesn’t it?

  2. bohemienne Says:

    You may be right, Ani… but both images are real, and the one I chose to remember in vivid detail was the meadow with wildflower-angels, maybe because it did feel more like a choice. Or at least a vindication of choice.

  3. quick Says:

    You know, sometimes I read these posts and I don’t have anything more intelligent to say in reply than offer a compliment on the writing, so I don’t bother saying anything. Which is what I just did.

    But then I thought what is wrong with expressing the pleasure a piece of writing has given, just for the hell of it. So I came back.

    So. I rarely read these posts just once, because they make me think, or they are simply well written. This post was no exception. Captured moments of melancholy and happiness so well. And it gets the thinkerator going. Good stuff.

    Thank you.

  4. bohemienne Says:

    Awww, Quick. Thank you. It means a lot to hear that. I’m glad you came back.

  5. miles away Says:

    knowing my luck, the field would possibly have contained an extraordinary cowpat quotient, however some times, that is all more of the freedom (if it could be described in that way!)

    but yes, it is. whether being cherished or cherising a small something, it is rather rare to see things so delicately.

  6. bohemienne Says:

    True, Miles Away, avoiding the cowpat can be another part of the choosing, right? 🙂


Leave a comment